Weekend In Oxford

Oxford, United Kingdom

Last weekend I took the train an hour and a half from London to the little city of Oxford. I arrived at the backpackers, dropped my things and went out to have a quick walk around before getting some dinner and happy hour cocktails. Saturday morning I got up and set out for a day of exploring, I was blown away by the buildings – they are just so gorgeous! I made my way to a little cafe called the Organic Deli and had some gluten free pancakes with yoghurt and fruit while the table of guys next to me looked on in awe.

I then got my little map out and decided the direction I was going. As I meandered, I passed college after college, walked through beautiful grounds of the university in amongst a quick pull of my umbrella when the rain decided to come out to play. I took safe haven in cafes and pubs when the rain got too much.

On the second night I went to the White Rabbit which is a pub nearby where I had breakfast and got their famous prized gluten free pizza and washed it down with a cider. I was then asked to join a couple of guys who were celebrating Brexit, probably the only people in Oxford doing so. When I go out of London I always have the pleasure of remembering how nice people are once you get out of the city.

On Sunday I was scheduled to do a college walking tour but the colleges were closed that morning so I switched to the afternoon and decided since I was there I would do the free city tour. It was a long day on my feet but I love doing city tours as you get a lot of information about the city that you wouldn’t generally know as well as inside knowledge as the tours are run by students.

For the Harry Potter fans out there, I saw where they filmed some scenes, like the room that was used as the hospital wing in the films, and also again for the ballroom dancing lessons.

Lastly if your reading this and have not studied yet or are wanting to do some post graduate study then may I recommend going to Oxford, it looks like an amazing experience to get to stay in a college, where you eat, sleep and have your tutorials, while enjoying the many activities the college has to offer. I know if I could go back in time, I know what I would do.

 

Until next time x

Leave a Reply

