Hygge! – Part 1

A couple of weekends ago I went for a long weekend to Copenhagen. I left on Thursday night and my work mate joined me on the Friday night.

Firstly, if you are going to Copenhagen in October – bring gloves, beanie, scarf and a warm jackets as it was chilly! It wasn’t even that cold temperature wise, it was about 9/10 degrees but the wind was really cold on one of the days and there was quite a dampness in the air.

Now on to the fun part – what I did!

I arrived late Thursday so after a quick nosey around the hostel I jumped into bed so I would be fresh for Fridays wandering. I began the morning by making my way to a breakfast place that I had already looked up online to check out. It was called Hafnia. The staff were lovely and gave me recommendations when I was having difficulty choosing between a couple of things. I ended up going with the cashew yoghurt with granola and fruit on top. It was SO GOOD! I loved the yoghurt but I think the winner was the granola. I don’t know what they put in there but I wanted more!

img_4714

After breakfast I walked up to the Assistens cemetery which is where Hans Christian Anderson and Niels Bohr are buried.

After a quick few photo shots of those, I made my way back down toward the canal. I grabbed a hire bike and rode around past the Marble Church, and the Amalienborg Castle then around the streets near Freetown Christiania.

img_4726

Then of course next stop was food again. I had read about Papirøen – which is an indoor street food place. I got an egg wrap and found a table to tuck in.

Once I was nice and full, I walked around Freetown Christiania which is pretty much people getting blazed. It is quite a hippy area with lots of brightly colored buildings and artsy pubs and cafes. On my way back towards the city centre I saw a cathedral with a really tall tower that I decided to go up. It was the scariest tower I have ever been on. It brings you out at a slanted platform and then theres a winding staircase up to the point. Amazing view but not for the lighthearted!

img_4737

See where I continue in Part 2.

Until next time x

 

Leave a Reply

