Bath time!

A couple of weekends ago I ticked off another destination in the UK that I have been wanting to go to for ages! Bath!

I took the train once again on Friday night, and found out that I was going to be staying at a Belushi’s. For those of you who aren’t from the UK, it is a bar. Upstairs was quite quiet but the noise outside the window from the people on the street was not as pleasant. If your there to party if would be fine, but otherwise you will need some earplugs. Saturday morning I went to Bill’s Bath for breakfast, and got avocado on toast with a poached egg. The avocado was a little over the top as there was more avocado than needed, but otherwise just what I needed to keep me fueled up for my day. While I was at Bill’s I looked at some pamphlets and saw an advertisement for the Visit Bath website. It was so good, and will definitely look up other cities in future to see if they have a similar thing. They had audio guides that you can download to your phone that takes you around the city to all the sights. There was a world heritage one and a Jane Austen one (she used to live in Bath for six years). I started off the World Heritage audio guide, it took me off around the corner from breakfast to the Bath Abbey. I then walked past the Roman Bath’s, and down and around to No.1 Royal Crescent. I stopped the guide and went inside, which is the only Georgian style house in Bath on display.

No.1 Royal Crescent, Bath

After I wandered by the river, and over the Pultney Bridge and to the end of the road where Holburne Museum is and had a quick look inside. It is free so you might as well go in, I didn’t spend too long there as it wasn’t really my type of thing. Then it was back across the bridge to end the guide.

Holburne Museum, Bath

 

It was still early afternoon so I went down towards the station and out the back to go for a bit of a trek, to Alexandra Viewpoint. It is not for the lighthearted, it was very steep and stairs all the way, but if you are up for it, it is definitely worth it! The view is amazing! After taking in the goregous view, I went back down and to Prior Park Landscape Gardens, this wasn’t steep but it was a slight incline all the way there and it was a long walk! I should of grabbed a bus. This was a paid entrance, which I’m not sure was worth the price, there was a few really nice parts to it, but if you are strapped for time, its not the end of the world.

Prior Park Landscape Garden, Bath

I  walked back into the city centre where I got a very well deserved dinner. Iwent to Stable bar, I had seen they did gluten free bases so I grabbed dinner there – it was really yummy! and the staff were friendly, I tried one of their ciders from the region as recommended by the lady behind the bar. Then it was home for an early night after walking around all day.

Sunday’s excapades will be in part 2

Until next time x

Leave a Reply

